Deadline Approaching for 2019 Fisher Governance Award Nominations

Fisher Governance Award winner Leigh Edwards is pictured with Jud Fisher.2018 Fisher Governance Award winner Leigh Edwards is pictured with Jud Fisher.

By: Jud Fisher—

Muncie, IN Ball Brothers Foundation is accepting nominations for its annual John W. and Janice B. Fisher Governance Award, which recognizes and honors the efforts of a board member of a Delaware County non-profit organization. The deadline to nominate someone is 4 p.m. August 15.

“Board members play an important role in non-profits and, thus, our communities,” said Jud Fisher, president and COO of Ball Brothers Foundation. “This award is uniquely designed to honor one person’s strategic contributions to the success of their organization’s mission, financial stability and effectiveness.”

The winner of the Fisher Governance Award will be announced at the Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce 2019 Annual Meeting Oct. 24. As part of the recognition, Ball Brothers Foundation will grant $10,000 to the winner’s respective organization.

To be eligible, nominees must have served on their board for at least two years and have displayed integrity, responsibility, accountability and support of results.

Nominations can be submitted at

John W. and Janice B. Fisher were active philanthropists in Delaware County. Janice Fisher was the daughter of Edmund Burke Ball, whose estate helped to establish Ball Brothers Foundation. John Fisher served as president and chairman of the foundation for more than 10 years.

For more information on Ball Brothers Foundation and the Fisher Governance Award, visit


About Ball Brothers Foundation

Ball Brothers Foundation is one of the state’s oldest and largest family foundations. Annually, the foundation makes approximately $7 million in grants to support arts and culture, education, the environment, health, human services, and public affairs. The Muncie-based private foundation gives priority to projects and programs that improve the quality of life in the foundation’s home city, county and state.