Ivy Tech Community College Honors Local Man as Top Dual Credit Faculty Member

Pictured L-R: Jeannie Hamblin-Fox, Rebekah Ireland, John Thompson, Chancellor Jeffrey ScottPictured L-R: Jeannie Hamblin-Fox, Rebekah Ireland, John Thompson, Chancellor Jeffrey Scott

By Lesley DeVoss—

MUNCIE, Ind. – Ivy Tech Community College honored John Thompson of New Castle High School as one of 19 individuals across the state selected to receive the second annual Excellence in Dual Credit Instruction President’s Awards, the highest honor for Ivy Tech dual credit faculty. Winners were announced at a special ceremony on June 14 in Indianapolis and the event concluded with the 2023 Statewide Award recipient, Dr. Christine Herr of Ivy Tech Richmond.

The College honored each one of the winners for their excellence in instruction and their positive impact on the dual credit students that they served during the 2022-2023 academic year. A Selection Committee made up of members of college administration selected the honorees based on nominations from students and high school administrators.

“Dual credit faculty provide students with skills, knowledge, and competencies aligned with clear career pathways and seamless college transfer,” said Ivy Tech President Sue Ellspermann. “Dual credit programming taught by credentialled high school faculty is of tremendous value to our students and our state. By helping students earn post-secondary credentials while in high school, we’re accelerating Indiana’s economic growth and Hoosier prosperity.”

Student, Alaina Bowman, nominated Thompson for this prestigious award. “I don’t think any other teacher I have met has influenced as many students as Mr. Thompson.  I have never been more engaged in a lesson.  It is clear to see that Mr. Thompson truly cares for his students, and wishes for them to succeed at all times. Mr. Thompson influences every student with his good attitude and his never ending optimism. He has touched every dual credit chemistry student’s heart,” Bowman said.

Executive Director of K-14 Initiatives, Rebekah Ireland, said, “We are honored to have Mr. Thompson represent the Muncie-Henry County campus. He maintains the integrity of the Ivy Tech material while engaging students on their level using enthusiasm, creativity, humor, and even music, as he writes songs about chemistry and performs them on his guitar. The New Castle community is fortunate to have someone who cares so much about its young people.”

“Our dual credit faculty go above and beyond to ensure our students receive the best value for their education and pair that with innovative approaches to ensure the possibility of a post-secondary credential,” said Interim Vice President of K-14 and Strategic Initiatives, Monica Hingst. “This award recognizes instructors who best demonstrate excellence in instruction and exemplifies the mission of Ivy Tech.”

The Excellence in Dual Credit Instruction President’s Award is modeled after the College’s President’s Award to recognize College faculty and adjunct faculty members from Ivy Tech locations throughout the state.

A full list of the statewide honorees is included below.

Anderson: Leah Perry, Science Mount Vernon High School                      

Bloomington: Elbert “Buddy” Hart, Design, Lost River Career Cooperation

Columbus: Robin Perry, Business, Seymour High School              

Evansville: Glenn Goffinet, Automotive & Advanced Manufacturing, Tell City Jr./Sr. High School                    

Fort Wayne/Warsaw: Ashley Johnson, Entrepreneurship, DeKalb High School              

Hamilton County: Kim Kaiser, Business & Marketing, Hamilton Heights High School

Indianapolis: Rene Walker, Health Sciences, Pike Career and STEM Center                    

Kokomo: Amy Lancaster, English, Peru High School

Lafayette: Melissa Colonis, Math, Lafayette-Jefferson High School

Lake County: Dawn Combis, Entrepreneurship, Lake Central High School                      

Lawrenceburg/Batesville:    Colleen Tincher, Foreign Language, Spanish, Franklin County High School

Madison: emeka Koren, Science, Madison Consolidated High School                   

Marion: Michelle Harrold, Math, Madison Grant High School

Muncie/Henry County: John Thompson, Chemistry, New Castle High School    

Richmond:     Dr. Christine Herr, Chemistry & Agriculture, Hagerstown High School

Sellersburg:   Michael Day, Mathematics, Silver Creek High School

South Bend/Elkhart: Dee Dee Gerber, English, Mishawaka High School

Terre Haute: Samantha Woodard, English, Parke Heritage High School

Valparaiso:    Laci Earle, Business, Washington Township High School

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns to the needs of the community. The College provides seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a Bachelor’s degree. Follow Ivy Tech on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn for the most up-to-date information.