134 Local Students Receive Martin Luther King Jr. Youth Citizenship Awards

Khylan Kennedy and Grissom Elementary School Interim Principal Randy McCracken.Khylan Kennedy and Grissom Elementary School Interim Principal Randy McCracken.

By Andy Klotz—

MUNCIE, Ind. – Behind his black mask, Grissom Elementary School fifth grader Khylan Kennedy beemed with pride after receiving his Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Youth Citizenship Award from Interim Principal Randy McCracken. He had no idea he was even up for an award.

“The students are nominated by teachers and other school leaders, so it’s always wonderful to see their reactions to this recognition they were never anticipating,” Muncie Community Schools Diversity Director Rhonda Ward said.

Altogether, 134 students were selected as award winners by the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Dream Team from all MCS schools, Burris Laboratory Schools, St. Michael Catholic Schools and Inspire Academy Schools. Due to COVID-19, presentations were made to students at their individual schools throughout the week rather than gathering for a collective ceremony. The presentations included a video of congratulatory remarks made by various community leaders. (See below.)

A complete list of award recipients can be found below.

Muncie Area Career Center

Dawson Brooks, Mahayla Clark, Riley Cox, Nataleigh Daugherty, Esli Velazquez Flores, Noah Kitterman, Alexandra McGrath, Ariel Newman, Jack Racer, Samantha Troxell, and Charity Wright.


Muncie Central High School

Dylan Beard, Jordan Dildy, Kaden Foster, Brandon Garrett, Zion Hamilton, Paijai Hawkins, Thomas Johnson, Angelina King, Brandon Musick, Timothy Shaffer, Keyniah Sharp, Michael Thomas, Yvan Vandenberg, Dion Welch, and Triston Whitney.


Northside Middle School

Brendon Barker, Quinton Butler, Jayleigh Cole-Westbrook, Thaily Cortez-Rios, Karissa Dunn, King Hart, Dreamah Patterson, Ja’Relle Rhodes-Hill, Learah Rollins, Draedon Sevion, Trenton Smalling, Knowledge Smith, Jhanyah Strong and Jonathan Wills.


Southside Middle School

Trevon Anthony, Ava Brown, Paeton Corbin, Brieonna Easton, Mylaya Gaines, Trevon Hill, Brandi Jones, Frederick Lewis, Doris Malloy, Annabell McCord, Karaline Taylor, and Adrian White.


East Washington Academy

Cynia Coleman, 3rd, Myla Crittenden, Mia Hill, Josiah Person, Nestor Romero, and Owen Shroyer.


Grissom Elementary School

Marcel Dunlap, Nicholas Grill, Hunter Johnson, Nova Jones, Khylan Kennedy, and Myanna Sevion.


Longfellow Elementary School

Nyiema Blackmon, Jaxson Ferrer-Riley, Ry’Ana Graham, Victoria Moore, Rhiley Thomas, and Marsadie’ Whiting.


North View Elementary School

Charlotte Hess, Carlaina Johnson, Landen Moore, , Camden Newhouse, Unnabh Shrestha, and Trevor Smalling.


South View Elementary School

Grace Layne, Angelina Gilland, Ja’Zyah McCray, Lillian Mullenix, Addleigh Rain, and Arielle Woods.


West View Elementary School

Douglas Acherekoh, Isabella Bergan, Willow Craig, True Gordon, LaHaley Heuchan, and Kiranpreet Kau.


Burris Laboratory Elementary School

Helen Fan, Evelynn Glidde, Alonna Mitchell, Aaron Nguyen, Lydia Rutherford, and Marlowe Shermeta.


Burris Middle School

Dorothy Eads, Elva Gu, Sydney Jackson, Dylan Mitchell, Ericka Rosado, and Danyal Syed.


Burris High School

Dutsika Campa, Laylianna EDeeb, Jackson Littlejohn, Brandon Milleman, Bentley Miller, Gerry Moore, Faith Shroll, and Moses Smith.


Inspire Academy Elementary School

Viktoria Kress, Ethan Ligene, Asher Mann, Rylan Showalter, Logan Smith, and Aidan Sylla.


Inspire Academy Middle-High School

Kazte Baugues, Riley Baugues, Frederik Carpenter, Am’ah Carter, Amina Carter, Lilah Carter, Zaden Fletcher, Amari’Yonna Jefferson, Isabel LeGraff, Kaleb Rose, and Joesiah Taylor.


St Michael Catholic Elementary School

Ayriel Bond, Grace Dessing, Shiloh Ernstberger, Ava Hayes, Hannah Koontz, and Cayliegh Lindsey.


St Michael Catholic Middle School

Emily Doerner, Noemi Galan, and Elijah Hagans.


About Muncie Community Schools

Serving the local community since 1855, Muncie Community Schools (MCS) educates more than 5,000 students at six elementary schools, two middle schools and one high school while also managing several other educational facilities. Through its unique partnership with Ball State University, MCS strives to maximize each student’s potential so he or she can be a positive, productive member of society. Find out more about MCS or Director of Public Education and CEO Lee Ann Kwiatkowski at muncieschools.org